Aveda Naturally Straight Review | SheSpeaks

Reviews & Ratings

Sort by
  • Tharris2394 By  Tharris2394    
    09.14.15

    I have very coarse hair. I would love to have a straightening cream that actually worked... Aveda Naturally Straight doesn't help natural hair. I reccomend to people who already have straight hair just may have to use on some stray aways... Coarse hair no sir..

    Was this helpful?   0
  • wanizo By  wanizo     SheSpeaks Tester
    08.24.15

    I was excited to try out Aveda Naturally Straight and was hopeful for it, but just really didn't work with my hair. It's a nice light fragrance, but kind of left my hair greasy and didn't really straighten the hair. Really wanted to like the product because I love Aveda, but this just isn't for me.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • minilils3 By  minilils3     SheSpeaks Tester
    07.17.15

    Great product. Makes my hair much more manageable before drying. Cuts the drying time down as well. Great scent!

    Was this helpful?   0
  • patty11 By  patty11    
    05.28.15

    Product does not work that well. My hair is full and heavy and it still frizzs. It does not seem to straight still frizzy. Plus it left my hair oily and not looking goos.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • supermous By  supermous     SheSpeaks Tester
    04.01.15

    My hair is fine, and slightly curly, mostly has waves. I tried the product and I followed the directions, I found that it didn't work quite as well as I had thought it would. My hair didn't blowdry quickly, nor did the product make my hair completely straight! It didn't last through four or five washes either. My hair felt soft, but I found that the product left a residue on my hair which made it look greasy the next day. I do not feel that this product lived up to the standards that it claims to do!

    Was this helpful?   0
  • minky4 By  minky4    
    04.01.15

    My daughter has been using this product quite regularly and I have noticed a significant difference in the texture of her hair. She has very thick hair which tends toward wavy that she seems to be inheriting from me (I have very curly, 3a curls). She uses this product after showering and will blow dry with a round brush. Her hair is stick straight and smooth for a couple of days. The more often she uses this product, the longer her hair stays smooth in between washes. It's pricey, but worth it.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • wakechick By  wakechick     SheSpeaks Tester
    03.21.15

    I have wavy hair and I thought this product was wonderful. I always had a hard time getting my hair to be completely straight using a round brush and blow dryer before, but when I used some of this first, My hair came out beautifully straight. I have a hard time believing it would work on someone with very curly or thick hair, but I have fine hair and it worked very well. I will buy more when I run out!

    Was this helpful?   0
  • adriasb By  adriasb     SheSpeaks Tester
    03.19.15

    I love this product! It smells great, is good for my hair, and it works. My hair has some natural wave that I can usually blow dry straight. This product made getting it straight faster and easier. I love that the company uses plant products and limits or eliminates harmful chemicals. I will definitely buy this in the future, and the tube lasts for a really long time.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • karih1 By  karih1    
    12.13.14

    Did not like this, my hair felt greasy.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • ccalexander By  ccalexander     SheSpeaks Tester
    12.12.14

    I love this product. I am late to the game posting my review but I have nothing negative to say. The smell is great; I love how shiny it makes my hair and its straightens is just enough to let the natural wave shine through without the frizziness. Thank you shespeaks and Aveda for letting me try this great product.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • lisamartin03 By  lisamartin03     SheSpeaks Tester
    12.05.14

    Tamed my fly-aways, Gave my hair needed volume and umph! Love it!

    Was this helpful?   0
  • reena102 By  reena102     SheSpeaks Tester
    11.20.14

    I waited a long time to review this product because I wanted to see how it changed my curly hair over time as promised. While I like the product, I don't think it performed as advertised. I was given the impression that this product is a good alternative to professional straightening treatments. I've had several salon Keratin treatments and this product does not compare to those. With the salon treatments I had straight, shiny hair for months without the use of a flatiron. This product works well but only if you use a blow dryer and flatiron. I can get similar results with other products. Overall I agree that it makes my hair look shiny and reduces frizz, but I don't think it loosens curls over time. I've used it for over a month and see no lasting effects.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • vneiner By  vneiner     SheSpeaks Tester
    11.20.14

    Aveda Naturally Straight is an easy to use product with a great fresh smelling aroma. Only a small amount of product is required (maybe a Tblspn) for whole head coverage. With this amount it works perfectly as advertised and was wonderful to use.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • kimhatch2000 By  kimhatch2000     SheSpeaks Tester
    11.18.14

    I tried this product for a few weeks. I can't say that it's a product that I can't live without, but it did seem to work a little bit. It did help with frizzy and fly away hair. It really didn't straighten my hair. Maybe my hair was just too thick for it to work properly. I did like the weightless feeling of it though.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • seppy76 By  seppy76     SheSpeaks Tester
    11.11.14

    I waited 2 months to write this review because I wanted to make sure I used the product consistently as directed to see if I could get the full benefits. Aveda Naturally Straight claims that after 5 consecutive applications, that the hair will stay straight for up to 3 washes. I did not see this result. But what I do like about this product is that it does help eliminate frizz and I can go up to 5-6 days without washing my hair. My hair does start to get wavy on the 3rd day but I like a little bit of a wave in my hair. The product smells really nice. It does not decrease my blow drying time though or make my hair easier to blow dry. Also this product needs to be used with heat styling. Otherwise it doesn't really do anything. I have used the smooth infusion line for a few years now. And even though this product does not loosen my curls after 5 uses, I will continue to use it for styling purposes. My hair does feel better after styling. So overall I'm happy with it.

    Was this helpful?   0